The essential

1- The score

A match is played best of three sets in 21 points : the first team to win 2 sets wins the match. The team winning a rally adds one point to its score. At 20, the set is extended: the team leading by 2 points wins the set (sometimes it is played at "21 sec", i.e. the first to arrive at 21 wins the set). set). At 29, the team scoring the first 30 wins the set. The team winning a set serves first in the next set.

This counting system is valid for the 5 disciplines of Badminton: Men's Singles, Ladies' Singles, Men's Doubles, Ladies' Doubles and Mixed Doubles.


2- To begin the match

Before the start of the match, the teams draw lots, either with a shuttlecock or with a coin. The team winning the toss exercises its choice either to serve / receive first or to choose the side of the half court. The team losing the toss chooses the other alternative.


3- Interruptions and change of half court

When the score reaches the first time in set 11, the players benefit from a stoppage of play of 60 seconds. Between each set, this interruption is 120 seconds. Players switch half courts at the end of each set, and in the third set, when the score first reaches 11.


4- Positions of players

Simple game

At the start of the set and whenever the score is even, the server serves on the right. If the score is odd he serves on the left. If the server wins the rally, he scores the point and serves in the alternate zone. If the receiver wins the rally, they score a point and take the serve.

In Doubles game

At the beginning of the set and when the score is even, the server serves from the right zone. When the score is odd he serves from the left zone. When the server's side wins the rally, it scores a point and the same server serves from the other service court. If the receiver's side wins the rally, they score a point. The receiving side becomes the server. The positions (on the winning side and on the losing side) then remain unchanged.


5- Service

When hitting, the racquet should be angled down and the shuttlecock should be hit below the waist. The waist is an imaginary line located at the level of the lowest part of the last rib of the server. During the execution of the service, server and receiver must have their feet in a stationary position.


6- The main faults

It is a fault if: the shuttlecock falls out of bounds, passes through or under the net, does not cross the net, touches the body or clothing of a player, is hit in the opposite court, is hit 2 times in a row by the same player or partner.

It is a fault if the player touches the net or the post with his racket, clothing or body, invades the opponent's court over the net (unless he "follows" his gesture), obstructs vis the opponent (prevents him from executing his blow), voluntarily distracts his opponent.


7- Materials

Each player has to have :

  • his own racket,
  • an appropriate sportswear,
  • a clean pair of indoor basketball shoes,
  • its steering wheels (plastic, carbon or feathers). 

To more informations

L’essentiel

1- Le score

Un match se joue au meilleur de trois sets en 21 points : l’équipe qui la première remporte 2 sets, gagne le match. L’équipe gagnant un échange ajoute un point à son score. A 20 égalité, le set est prolongé : c’est l’équipe qui mène avec 2 points d’écart qui remporte le set (parfois cela se joue à « 21 sec », c’est à dire le premier arrivé à 21 remporte le set). A 29 égalité, l’équipe marquant la première 30 gagne le set. L’équipe gagnant un set sert en premier dans le set suivant.

Ce système de comptage est valable pour les 5 disciplines du Badminton : Simple Messieurs, Simple Dames, Double Messieurs, Double Dames et Double Mixte.


2- Pour commencer le match

Avant le début du match, les équipes tirent au sort, soit avec un volant, soit avec une pièce. Ainsi, l’équipe gagnant le tirage au sort exerce son choix soit servir / recevoir en premier ou choisir le coté du demi-terrain. L’équipe perdant le tirage au sort exerce son choix sur l’autre alternative.


3- Interruptions et changement de demi-terrain

Quand le score atteint la première fois dans le set 11, les joueurs bénéficient d’un arrêt de jeu de 60 secondes. Entre chaque set, cette interruption est de 120 secondes. Les joueurs changent de demi-terrain à la fin de chaque set, et au troisième set, lorsque le score atteint la première fois 11.


4- Positions des joueurs

En simple

Au début du set et chaque fois que le score est pair, le serveur sert à droite. En revanche, si le score est impair, dans ce cas il sert à gauche. Si le serveur gagne l’échange alors il marque le point et sert dans la zone alternative. Si le receveur gagne l’échange, il marque un point et prend le service.

En double

Au début du set et quand le score est pair, le serveur sert depuis la zone de droite. Quand le score est impair il sert depuis la zone de gauche. Lorsque le camp du serveur gagne l’échange, celui-ci marque un point et le même serveur sert depuis l’autre zone de service. Si c’est le camp du receveur qui gagne l’échange, c’est lui qui marque un point. Le camp du receveur devient serveur. Les positions (du côté gagnant et du côté perdant) restent alors inchangées.


5- Le service

Au moment de la frappe, la raquette doit être inclinée vers le bas et le volant doit être frappé sous la taille. La taille est une ligne imaginaire située au niveau de la partie la plus basse de la dernière côte du serveur. Pendant l’exécution du service, serveur et receveur doivent avoir leurs pieds en position stationnaire.


6- Les principales fautes

Il y a faute si : le volant tombe en dehors des limites du terrain, passe à travers ou sous le filet, ne franchit pas le filet, touche le corps ou les vêtements d’un joueur, est frappé dans le camp opposé, est frappé 2 fois de suite par le même joueur ou partenaire.

Il y a faute si le joueur touche le filet ou le poteau avec sa raquette, ses vêtements ou son corps, envahit le terrain de l’adversaire par dessus le filet (sauf s’il « suit » son geste), fait obstruction vis à vis de l’adversaire (l’empêche d’exécuter son coup), distrait volontairement son adversaire.


7- Le matériel

Chaque joueur-se doit avoir :

  • sa raquette,
  • une tenue de sport appropriée,
  • une paire de basket d’intérieur propre,
  • ses volants (plastiques, carbones ou plumes). 

Pour  aller  plus loin  :